top of page
Search
  • lewisgeoffreyt

Invest when you can / lessons learned ...

One thing I can not stress enough is the need to invest in yourself and your future. No, I'm not trying to do a crypto currency pitch; although I've dabbled a bit recently and it's going nicely.


No, what I mean was that when the opportunity arises to upgrade your equipment, consider the possibilities carefully and strike when you can.


Via stroke of luck and lots of patience, I recently came into an unexpected amount of income from the Department of Veteran's Affairs and after some shopping around I decided it was time to invest in a new camera. I still have my previous one, but with the run of luck I'd been having with my regular job among other things that were going my way, the timing seemed right. I am now the proud owner of a brand new Nikon D850!


That being said, it turns out the lens I currently own isn't quite what this camera needs to reach its potential, but that'll be the next target off my upgrade list. If I can find them at the right price, I might actually get a few lenses to cover all my bases.


My old rig, and I hate calling it that already, a Nikon D200 is in need of maintenance and upkeep. Not to toot my own horn, I can still shoot circles around some photographers out there with it. I chalk it up to familiarity with my equipment (which, in my opinion, trumps getting a hold of the latest and greatest any day), but you can be the judge on that one. Once I get the lens(es) I need for the 850 and can send the 200 in, I'll have the capability to set up a static video capture platform and take freehand stills at the same time ... Oh, the possibilities.


Along with all this, my better half gifted me with something I've always wanted for my birthday this year, a drone! A DJI Air 2S to be specific. I've got to say, I was impressed with the amount of research she put into this purchase. It was even better than the one I was considering and about half or less the cost. I just needed to register it with the FAA, which I did practically right after opening the box. Knowing me, the Aries that I am, she saw fit to include an insurance package to go with it that I promptly forgot. Well ... Less than a month in and I'm already utilizing it to replace the gimble.


Listen. It's not my fault that tree was there while I was flying at sunset (Pro tip: don't do that, like, ever). These things just happen. I felt so bad when it happened and dreaded telling her about it. She just laughed and said "you're welcome," as she reminded me about the insurance plan. Just as fast as I was to register this thing, I was filling out inquiries and printing out mailing labels to send it in for repair. Her anticipating my general handling of anything of value saved my new equipment, my sanity, and perhaps the relationship, lol.


Bottom line, please be careful when learning to fly something like this. Try things out in an open field and try to have a spotter with you, just in case. It'll save you the headache and dread of replacing anything and/or having to break the news to anyone.


TL;DR - I managed to get some new camera equipment recently. Still need parts for some of it and broke the rest with overconfidence in my lack of piloting skills/experience.

Recent Posts

See All

Welcome to my blog

So, you've managed to find my blog. This means that either you randomly found this while searching for tips and tricks on photography, or you stumbled upon my site and are just poking around. In eithe

bottom of page